Skip to content

Jidai Matsuri!

November 2, 2006

Which basically means, a Festival of the Periods. It has one of the biggest parades in the year (within Kyoto at least). It was two weekends ago.

People dressed in clothes and doing things from all periods of Japan's history parade down the road, into the Emperor's Palace. It starts off in ancient times, then gradually gets more and more modern, through all of Japan's periods. It goes on for hours. I can't tell you exactly how long, cos after about 3 hours, my companions were complaianing of sore feet and a craving for falafels, so we left.

But not before seeing some pretty cool things. Unfortunately, I kept up my tradition of having my good camera view blocked by something – this time it was some old bastard in the VIP section who stood right at the front by the roadside, video camera in hand, and filmed the whole damn thing. Well, most of it anyway. At some point I think his bones gave out on him cos he disappeared. Or maybe someone took him out. I know I wasn't the only one he was pissing off.

I did manage to get a few photos snapped off though, so I'll stick some in the Gallery. There were warriors, samurai, farmers, village people (not Village People), royalty and courtesans from all Japan's ages. Was pretty cool.

That evening, there was a huge festival consisting of carrying huge bowls of fire through the streets along with a bunch of dancing and chanting. But I didn't know about that until after, so I missed it 😦 Sounded cool, too.

Word of the Day: 祭 – matsuri – festival

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

