Skip to content

Sweet

June 17, 2008

Right now it’s a steamy hot summer’s evening in Kyoto. It’s only going to get hotter as summer progresses, which is a scary thought, but right now it’s plenty enough to make you sweat from your eyeballs.

Adding to the heat is my girlfriend in my “kitchen” – the space of my one room apartment with a sink in it. It’s about two metres to the left of the “bedroom”, where I am now.

Now, I didn’t mean that to sound like it did – the heat is actually coming from the variety of things she has bubbling and boiling over there. She has been trying to cook dinner for the last twenty or thirty minutes in that little space, and I wonder what her own kitchen looks like. She’s blocked the sink, dropped the teatowel in some kind of meat thing, used almost all utensils I own, and got mince and other cooking materials on pretty much every surface around – including her own legs. Every few minutes I hear another thump or clatter and turn around, and see her looking at me all embarrassed, telling me it’s OK, or asking me where the cloths are.

She’s having a shocker, and I’m pretty sure this room is going to stink in the summer heat after all the mince down the back of the sink starts rotting tomorrow…. she’s only making hamburgers. But she’s trying her best to cook for her boyfriend, and it’s really super sweet. And at the end of the day, that’s really what counts.

No matter how the meal may turn out.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

