Skip to content

Noisy Nationals

August 24, 2008

Well, I was all fired up about writing about my two weeks in Cambodia and showing a bunch of photos, but instead, I had my camera stolen and so I’m putting that off for a bit.

So, I was sitting in my room contemplating how shitty it is to steal someone’s photos, especially those of someone as keen a photographer as me, and especially on a special trip, when my rumination was disturbed by one hell of a racket out my window. Over on the main street, the men in black vans had started up again.

I’ve seen these guys a couple of times, and I don’t really know their deal in any real detail, but they’re a pain in the ass. They rolled up and down the main streets for several hours again yesterday, blasting rants out their megaphones.

They’re some kind of supreme nationalist party, who roll around proclaiming stuff along the lines of loving your country, and, although I haven’t expressly heard it, removing all foreigners. That kind of thing. The fact that I haven’t expressly heard them say that has, I think, less to do with the fact that they’re not saying it, and more to do with the fact that it’s difficult to tell what the hell they’re saying at all.

They’re noise pollution. I’d say there’s a time and a place for this kind of carry-on, but actually, there probably isn’t. I haven’t seen any other group, political or otherwise, try to get noticed as much as these guys. Not that they’re getting noticed. As you can see, they’re being pretty much ignored.

The riot police were out in case things got out of hand, but really they’re more like a bunch of little kids trying to get everyone to play a game nobody’s interested in. I don’t even know how they get the clearance.

If anyone knows what they’re saying in that video, by the way, let us know!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2008 5:33 am

    Wow, sorry to hear about your camera. For selfish reasons obviously…
    There is no chance at all that it will turn up again? What happened, were you mugged? What a bummer! Enormously shitty indeed, I hope they catch the ass that did it and give him a good old-fashioned flossing .. oops.. flogging…

  2. August 26, 2008 3:59 pm

    Actually, I can't be sure of what happened, but as far as I know, I had my camera in my carry-on backpack right up to the security check before boarding in Phnom Penh. The guy on the Xray asked to check my bag, so took it and took a bunch of stuff out before putting it all back in and returning it to me.Only when I got off the plane at the other end, I noticed my camera was no longer in my bag. Money says it was taken out but never replaced in that security check. Whether it was intentional or an accident, I don't know, but either way, contacting Phnom Penh airport myself, and through both the airline and Japan's Osaka airport have all come up with "no camera here", so it looks pretty unlikely it'll ever make its way back!:(

  3. August 28, 2008 4:17 am

    Strange! The impression I got when passing through Japan is that even street bums have the newest electronic gadgets.. so why a security officer would steal a camera..? If is was unintentional they would probably ashamed to admit it. Any way you turn it, you're phucked 😦

  4. August 28, 2008 3:25 pm

    Yep, pretty phucked alright. Though theft doesn't really seem like a very Japanese thing to do, this happened in Cambodia. And from what I saw, there's a hell of a lot less money floating around that country.

Leave a Reply

