Skip to content

How to be a Hollywood Script Writer

November 17, 2008

When I was in University, I made a couple of short films. They were stupid little things, nothing special, but good fun to make (though hell to edit!). Since I came to Japan, I've constantly had this idea of making A Movie here, too. I've never known what kind of movie the Movie would be… I've given it passing thought at times, but always put it aside for later contemplation.

As I am getting to the end of my time here, I decided that if I was going to make this Movie, I had better hurry the hell up. I was still kind of stuck for good ideas, though. If possible, I'd like to really capitalise on the fact that I am in Japan, and set it here, specifically. Also, I'd really like to have all the dialogue in Japanese, and subtitle it into English. Mostly because, this is probably the only time in my life I'm ever going to be in a place where I can do this!

So, being kind of strapped for ideas, I decided to ask my kids for help. The young Japanese 15/16 year old kids should surely have a bevy of original, striking ideas. They are still in the prime of youth, experiencing so many things, and have remnants of wild childlike imagination that can be cultured and shaped by increasing knowledge of how the world works. My only fear was that the kids would be coming up with such wild ideas, they would be completely impossible to realise! But, I decided I would have to take that chance, and asked them to come up with the best ideas they could think of.

If they could see a movie, any movie, what would be the best movie they would want to see? Not a movie that has already been made, but a movie which you WISH someone would make. The movie you really want to see. I told them that if they could write an interesting enough premise, then I would make their movie.

Here are a collection of pearls distilled from such unyoked imagination:

"I would like to see made about baseball. A hero who broke his shoulder recover from injury with friendship of teammate."

"I want to see a movie about super hero story. The heroes are eight people. They are called eight ranger. Eight ranger fight with bad guys. I want to see a comical movie."

"I want to see a movie about hero. A helo is Ken. He is junior high school student. One day, he saw the monster. He made were fight to defend the people."

"I want to see a love story. It not just about happiness. I want to see a movie which made a deep impression."

"I would like to see the youth story. There are high school that join basketball club. And they struggle. And they win very strong team. And they are crying and lughing."

"I want to see real Totoro. Because I like Totoro. But I saw only animation Totoro. So I want."

"I want to see a SF movie like the ET. The story of aliens from space."

"I would like to make an adventurer story. There are two brothers and one sister. Their family treasure was stolen by someone. So they travel to find it. They take a ship and walk in the forest. On the way. They had a quarrel between brothers, but they are a cooperative to find it."

"I would like to make a thriller. Because I like story of mystery about 「A suspect X's devotion」. It is very interesting."

"I would like to see made lead an easy life story. Mother, fater, broters, sisters and cats live in a small house. It has many trifling occurrence."

"I'd like to see movie that about a doll which moves. I want the doll to go out and go school, shops, park, city and so on. Then the doll'll have many experiences. And the doll'll go home."

Wow. I'm impressed. I don't know where they get such wildly original ideas, but today's bigshot movie producers could learn a thing or two about what teenagers like if they'd only go to the length of asking some of them! Until that happens, though, I guess we will just keep getting the same old same old. I guess it's up to me and my kids to branch out and really break the mold!

Especially that Live Totoro one. That could be pretty interesting.

P.S. The shoutbox has been added to the bottom of the right hand side bar! Feel free to comment your life away without having to sign in!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 4:30 pm

    Hey I never knew you made any films.

  2. November 19, 2008 5:16 pm

    Yep. They were EXCELLENT.

  3. November 21, 2008 2:44 pm

    haha-sounds like that novel you once wrote-you said that was excellent too!!!!!

  4. December 2, 2008 3:37 pm

    i saw em all. excellent is a stretch 😛 you should get jono to give you ideas, if you flew him over he could be ur director, producer and cameraman :):):)

  5. December 2, 2008 3:40 pm

    oh, you shud go onto youtube japanman, and look up jono's ufo things. im gonna bring up the dvd of it at xmas but yea. if you search something like 'ufo doco, dunedin OR ufo doco, jonothan fox' you should be able to find it, its in two or three parts i believe…

  6. December 2, 2008 3:41 pm

    I might wait till Xmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

