Skip to content

Autumnal Amusement

December 1, 2008

Haven’t updated in a while, but there’s a good reason.

That damn test.

Autumn has hit Kyoto, and that means tourists. Hundreds of them. Both my house and my school are right near tourist hotspots, which means that every Autumn and Spring I get greeted by swarms of people trying to negotiate Kyoto’s tiny streets as I try to go about my day. Luckily, to make things easier, the local friendly police are there to wave flashing sticks around to try to get everyone to walk in something like a coherent fashion. Everyone ignores them. Sensing easy prey, they like to get the foreigner (me) to stop every opportunity they can to reinforce their inner sense of doing something worthwhile. Needless to say, it just pisses me off as all I’m trying to do is get to my house on the other side of the road, you wanker.

On the upside, if I leave my house nice and early to arrive at work before first period (not very often), the place is usually still relatively deserted, and if the weather’s nice (not very often), I can take quite a pleasant ride through some of the prettier parts of Kyoto.

However, by far and away, the vast majority of my time is not in fact spent strolling the streets, killing old ladies in crushes of sheer human mob pressure, but something more closely approaching this:

 

Mr. Donut has opened not too far from my house, and stolen me away from Starbucks with their promise of never-ending free refills of their sub-par coffee and letting me stay there till all hours poring over my Japanese language books. I have, in the last month or so, tried the last two years’ tests as practice, and as a way to monitor my performance. About a month ago, I tried one. I got 56%. I studied my brains out for a month and tried the other one a couple of days ago. I got 57%. The passing grade for the test is 70%. Things aren’t looking good.

So, I am constantly tired and trying to fit in my many daily chores around study and a fari bit of procrastination – to be fair, after studying constantly for this long, I really can’t take much more of it. Still, only a few more days to go! One of my favourite ways to procrastinate is listening to some good Japanese music (extremely rare), as I can try to fool myself that it’s actually listening practice. Which it kind of is, just not really.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2008 5:18 am

    lots of good luck and crossed fingers for thursday-hope it goes better than you anticipate……….

  2. December 2, 2008 3:43 pm

    Hmm? Sunday. Sorry. Did I write Thursday somewhere….?

  3. December 2, 2008 8:09 pm

    Mate, whatever it is on the plate it looks like a ropey dog turd. Good luck on the exams, Man. Seems like you've been at it forever.

  4. December 3, 2008 5:07 pm

    Maybe I should have taken the photo before biting into that particular delicacy. This crazy country. Yep, feels like forever here too 🙂 Cheers for the wishes!

Leave a Reply

