Skip to content

Gutted off Greece

November 24, 2010

We missed Greece.

As I write this, the white shore is floating outside the window, just out of reach. The port workers at Greece decided to have a strike today, from 6am to 6am of the following day. We were aware of that, and so tried to get in to dock before the start of the strike. Unfortunately, strong winds had other ideas and we were unable to approach until the strike had started, meaning we were unable to dock. However, we also didn’t have enough fuel left to continue on to Sicily, our next stop on the trip, so we have spent the day bobbing about, just off the coast of Pilaeus, about 30 minutes from Athens.

Ahhh, how I was looking forward to this place. Since I was a child, I have been interested in Ancient Greece and all its stories, and was pretty excited about getting out and seeing the place firsthand. I remember when I travelled to Rome a few years ago, and the intense feeling upon seeing the Colosseum in real life after having seen it in movies and books for so long. I was looking forward to similar feelings upon seeing the Acropolis and Parthenon, but I guess it was not to be. I should have soaked up the atmosphere in Cyprus a little more. 😦

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pete permalink
    November 24, 2010 4:02 pm

    A shame about Greece. With your love of travelling I’m sure you will be back. Good that you didn’t see any pirates but the unruly crowds in Egypt would be uncomfortable. Keep up the great read, roll on the next port!

Leave a Reply

