Skip to content

Tsumi to Batsu を翻訳してみた

June 3, 2011

I was having a good old listen to this song today, but realised I was annoyed at the fact that there were a few lines I couldn’t quite make out. Got home, jumped on the net, found them, and wasn’t surprised I couldn’t hear them. Bloody awkwardly poetic writing, which I figured would be a good chance to test my mettle as a translator.

“Tsumi to Batsu” means Crime and Punishment, and is a 2000 single by Shina Ringo. One of my favourite songs by probably my favourite Japanese artist, and now you can (hopefully) understand what she’s saying. Video is weird, and sadly doesn’t include the outro, but here it is.

Lyrics: Japanese followed by English. Suggestions/corrections welcome!

頰を刺す朝の山手通り

煙草の空き箱を捨てる

今日もまた足の踏み場は無い

小部屋が孤独を甘やかす

「不穩な悲鳴を愛さないで

未來等 見ないで

確信出來る現在だけ重ねて

あたしの名前をちゃんと呼んで

身体を触って必要なのは是だけ認めて」

愛してる独り泣き喚いて

夜道を弄れど虛しい

改札の安螢光燈は

貴方の影すら落さない

歪んだ無常の遠き日も

セヴンスタ一の香り

味わう如く季節を呼び起こす

あたしが望んだこと自体

矛盾を優に超えて

一番愛しいあなたの声迄

掠れさせて居たのだろう

靜寂を破るドイツ車とパトカ一

サイレン

爆音

現實界

或る浮遊

Frost spikes at my cheek in the morning on Yamate Road

As I discard my empty cigarette box

Once again, today I have nowhere to be

This small room just indulges my loneliness

(Chorus)

Don’t love this disquieting scream

Don’t look to things like the future

Just pile up the “now”s, the only thing we can be sure of

Call my name clearly

Touch my body

This is all we need, admit it

“I love you”, I scream through tears, alone

Fumbling down night streets aimlessly

The cheap fluorescent lights at the station entrance

Won’t even show your shadow

I call up those seasons which allow me to taste

Those warped, transient days of the past

And the smell of those Seven Star cigarettes

The very thing I wished for

Has greatly surpassed all madness

And has probably even cracked the voice

Of you, the one I love the most

A German car and a police car rip through the silence

A siren. An explosion.

Reality is just one place I drift through

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

